WATCH: Former Congressman Says “Time to turn the page on Pelosi”

The months of speculation and rumors surrounding House Speaker Nancy Pelosi’s political future may come to an end when she decides whether she will run for re-election as the Democratic leader or stand aside to make way for a new generation of lawmakers to lead the caucus. Additionally, the speaker claimed that the attack on her husband, Paul Pelosi, at their San Francisco home the previous month would influence her decision to resign.

Drew Hammill, the spokeswoman for Nancy Pelosi, tweeted that the House Speaker has received a deluge of calls from coworkers, friends, and fans. This evening, the Speaker was keeping an eye on the results in the final three significant states. Tomorrow, Nancy Pelosi will speak to her colleagues about her goals. Pay attention.

Three weeks after her husband, Paul, was violently attacked at their San Francisco home, and one day after Republicans formally took control of the chamber in the 2022 midterm elections, is when she made her choice.

After the so-called “red tsunami” failed to materialize on election day, the GOP is predicted to hold a narrow majority. Democrats outperformed predictions in the governor, Senate, and House elections, defying historical precedent.

Hoyer, the current House Majority Leader, declared he will not seek re-election as leader of the House in the wake of Pelosi’s declaration.

Hoyer declared in a statement that “now is the time for a new generation of leaders,” adding that he would back Democratic Rep. Hakeem Jefferies.

At the end of the month, House Democrats will pick a new leader, and Pelosi’s declaration is sure to spark a wave of candidacy announcements.

Nancy Pelosi will announce her future plans on the House floor, according to a source close to her. The source claims that she brought two draughts of hers.

Since 2003, Nancy Pelosi has presided as the House’s Democratic leader. She was elected speaker for the first time after Democrats took control of the House in 2007, and she has held the position ever since for four separate terms.